Search Engine Optimization

Imagine a world phone book. Ok, I know I’m dating myself here. If you don’t know what a phone book is, google it.   🙂    Anyway, you can imagine this phone book to be at least a mile thick.

Now imagine you asked the phone book makers to list your business in the world book. You are so excited to have your business available to the world! However, you failed to realize that the phone book makers neglected to list your business in the appropriate category and this fine book is not in alphabetical order. How in the world will anyone find your business?! They won’t.

While this may seem absurd, it happens all the time with websites. Your website may be the coolest site out there, but it’s pointless if a search engine can’t find it.

Here are a few questions to ask yourself or  your web designer:

  • What are your keywords?
  • Is your meta description clear and simple?
  • Do you even have a meta description?
  • Do other sites link to yours?

These questions are just a start. There is a lot that can be done to help your website shine in the jungle of the world-wide web.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Karen Anderson

     /  January 2, 2012

    Sandi – Yes, I know what a phone book is. In fact, I get 3 or 4 new ones every year. Not sure why anyone thinks I need so many phone books when I rarely use them.
    But what I’m not familiar with is a meta. What’s a meta? Like I recently told Peter when we were discussing some vocabulary term I’d never heard, “I need to get out more”. Love your new blog.

    Reply
    • Haha, I love it Karen. No, you don’t need to get out more. 😉 If you had a business and a website you might know what a meta description is. It is a description of your website that shows up in search results. When you google something, the results show a title and then a description. It’s important to have something brief and descriptive there so people know what your site is about. That little description is put in the coding when the website is built. It doesn’t show up on the site itself – it’s just there for the search engines and searchers.

      As far as phone books go… I wonder how long it will be before kids no longer know what one is. Our grandkids maybe? 50 years down the road after I die my grandkids will discover my blog – they’ll look at each other and say “what in the world is a phone book?” 😀

      Reply

Please leave a comment

