Why Twitter?

A friend asked me recently how to use Twitter.  Someone had told her she needed to be on Twitter and that’s as far as it went. So she has a Twitter account. Now what?

I view Twitter as an incredibly versatile tool that, as with any tool, it helps to know what you want to accomplish with it. Here are a few ways I currently use it:

  • Education – I follow leaders in my fields (web design and marketing) and learn a lot from them. I read their blogs and the articles they link to. I get the most up to date news from them.
  • Example – I follow a few successful businesses to see how they market their products and services. There is a fine line between informative and annoying. I’m developing my own ideas on how to market myself and the services I will offer.
  • Encouragement in faith – I follow a few leaders who share the same faith and encourage me in my daily walk. In the midst of all the business hullabaloo it’s an oasis.

At this point I don’t feel I have a whole lot to offer but eventually I hope to be able to offer some of the above to my followers.  I do tweet or retweet occasionally but for the most part I’m in education mode.

What is Twitter to you? What do you hope to accomplish? Who do you want to know? What do you have to offer? Why are you there (assuming you are there)? What are your goals? These are just a few questions to ask yourself if you are in the same quandary as my friend.

Don’t follow blindly. Follow with a purpose.

For a more in-depth article on following and getting followers, click here: http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/3o1CWq/cathypresland.com/blog/internet-marketing/get-followers-on-twitter/

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Daisy

     /  December 20, 2011

    Nice twitter page, Sandi. I still don’t get the purpose, but that’s kind of normal these days. I guess there are just more options these days to get connected.

    Reply
  2. I use Twitter regularly for a number of purposes. To gain exposure and and increase “expert” status. Selling is all about building relationships and I use the “Big 3” (Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter) to do that, along with my other marketing efforts.

    Reply

Please leave a comment

